Teamfight Tactics Rank Breakdown

Who I am
Dustin Brady
Author and references

Teamfight Tactics is a strategy game where your goal is to build the strongest team possible to be all other players in a round-based fight. As with all strategy games, there is a ranking system that pits players of equal skill level against each other. Here's everything you need to know about ranked play in TFT.

Rank distribution


  • Similar to League of Legends (the game TFT is based on), there are nine tiers: Iron, Bronze, Silver, Gold, Platinum, Master, Grandmaster, Challenger.
  • Usually the game tries to match you with players of the same rank (i.e. Silver players match other Silver players), but this is not a guarantee. Here are the ranks you might be matched with, depending on your rank.
    • Iron: Iron, Bronze, Silver, Gold
    • Bronze: Iron, Bronze, Silver, Gold
    • Silver: Iron, Bronze, Silver, Gold
    • Or : Fer, Bronze, Argent, Or, Platine
    • Platinum: Gold, Platinum, Diamond
    • Diamond: Platinum, Diamond, Master, Grandmaster, Challenger
    • Master: Diamond, Master, Grand Master, Challenger
    • Grandmaster: Diamond, Master, Grandmaster, Challenger
    • Challenger: Diamond, Master, Grand Master, Challenger
  • You can join a ranked match as a group. If everyone in your party is Gold or lower, you can join parties of five. Otherwise, you can only join in groups of three.

Related: All Teamfight Tactics Classes


  • Reasons filed in TFT typically last about four months. That's much shorter than League of Legend's one-year seasons.
  • Each season usually brings new characters, classes, and origins. Sometimes this will bring new game mechanics. This keeps the ranking system up to date and forces players to adapt to new strategies if they want to rank up in any season.
  • Because each season is so different from the last, the game will change your rank at the start of each. They will take your rank at the end of the previous season and average with the median rank of all players to determine what rank you should start the new season at.

Ranking up

  • If you've never played with a rank before, you'll start Iron II after your first match. You will then go through five preliminary ranked matches based on this ranking before receiving your official starting ranking.
  • The only way to rank in the game is to play matches and place as high as possible. If you rank high enough in a match, you will receive LP (League Points) which contribute to your rank and level.
  • Each level has four divisions, which are represented by the numbers I, II, III, and IV, with IV being the highest. Each time you earn 100 LP by playing matches, you will advance to the next division. If you rank from Division IV in your tier, you will move up to the next tier in the first division.
  • Players only earn LP if they place fourth or higher in a ranked match. If they place fifth or lower, they will lose LP instead.

Related: All Teamfight Tactics Set 6 Items: Gizmos and Gadgets

Rank down

  • In Master Tier and above, you can lose your Division Rank if you don't play. You can bank up to 10 of your previous games to apply to your rank, but one game is removed from your bank each day. If you don't have a banked match for it to drop, you will lose 250 LP instead. This means that if you don't play a match for at least 10 days, you will start to drop in the rankings. The lowest tier you can access through this method is Main Division I – you cannot be downgraded to Gold.
  • Losing LP in a match does not carry over between ranks when demoted. You can only downgrade your division or level if you get lower than fourth place in a match when you have no LP.

That's all there is to know about the ranking system in Teamfight Tactics!

Want to see the latest Champions Series? Be sure to check out our list of all current Teamfight Tactics champions, origins, and classes!

Audio Video Teamfight Tactics Rank Breakdown
add a comment of Teamfight Tactics Rank Breakdown
Comment sent successfully! We will review it in the next few hours.